Player's Player of the Season shortlists announced for SWF leagues

Last updated : 08 May 2024 By ed_Scottish Fitba

Scottish Women’s Football is delighted to announce the shortlists for the Player’s Player of the Season for the SWF Championship, League One and the regional SWFL divisions.

Each shortlist is made up of the players in each league that received the most nominations from fellow players in an online poll. Players will now have an opportunity to vote from their respective shortlist to decide who will take home the prize.

SWF CEO Aileen Campbell said: “In women’s football, and especially in the grassroots game, it’s vitally important to value the players who light up their leagues and provide them with much-needed visibility. There’s no-one more qualified to do that than the women and girls who play in our leagues themselves. We received many nominations highlighting the best players they have faced, with the most nominations forming these shortlists. Now we return to all players in each league to vote for the winner. I encourage all players to get involved and use your vote.”

Clare DochertyLast year’s winner in the SWF’s top division the Championship, Clare Docherty of Ayr United, has been shortlisted again and is joined by league winners Rossvale’s attacking talent Megan Whiteford and Jemma McQuillan. East Fife midfielder Brodie Rigby Wilson completes the shortlist.

Giffnock SC teenager Kasha Gronowska ButzSWF League One has seen a fiercely competitive season and nominations received have current leaders Stenhousemuir represented by both Eva Ralston and goalkeeper Rosie Alexander. Iona Bridges of rivals Falkirk is also on the shortlist, as well as Giffnock SC teenager Kasha Gronowska Butz.

SWFL North Champions Inverurie Locos see Lynne Robertson and Lily Graham on the shortlist, joining Summer Simpson of Huntly and Dyce’s Mhari Whittingham.

The SWFL South shortlist features Kilwinning’s Toni Coyle, Sarah Tait of Ayr United Development, Erin McGinlay of Harmony Row and Annan Athletic’s Rhiann Williams.

In SWFL West, title rivals Drumchapel and Dunipace are represented by Sara McWhirter and Claire Hutton respectively, who join Mel Porter of Rossvale Development and West Park United’s Kirsten Thornton.

Finally, the SWFL East shortlist contains two players from SWFL Cup winners Glenrothes Strollers: veteran defender Kerry Dickson and Anne Money, as well as currently unbeaten Aramadale Thistle’s Katie Hay and McDermid Ladies skipper Tyler Rattray.

Players will have until Wed 15 May to vote for their player of the season in their league.