Welsh Dragon To Be Slayed

Last updated : 18 May 2002 By Ed_scottishfitba

After their fine displays against Austria and Belgium, Scotland’s women will be really fired up to tackle the Welsh. They need one more victory to lead their group and make it to the complicated play-off stage. The Group five winners, (which will be either Belgium or Scotland) will face the bottom team in Group 1, (either Ukraine or Czech Republic) with the ties to be played between 22nd August and 30th September, over two legs.

The women travel to face Wales on Sunday with a full strength squad. Just 7 months ago, the women thrashed Wales 5-1 but the scoreline was rather closer at their most recent meeting, in March in the Algarve Cup, where the result was 1-0 to Scotland. The Welsh are bottom of group 5 and have been unlucky in games, for example they missed a penalty in their 1-0 defeat by Belgium.

With home advantage it is expected to be a close encounter. Vera Pauw is confident of a win but is wary of any signs of complacency. Pauw said: “The Welsh are tough opponents and we will need to be at our best not only technically but also mentally. The team know that victory on Sunday will be rewarded with a play-off place and that progression is in our own hands.” The game takes place on Sunday 19th May at Penydarren Park, Merthyr Tydfil with a 3:00 o’clock kick off. If you fancy heading down there, the Tartan Army are continuing to support the women’s National Squad and have organised a bus to travel to the game. Anyone wishing to travel to Sunday’s match please contact: Ian Black on 0141 9460361 or tomf@exchange.Scotland.NCR.COM.

The Squad is as follows:

Michelle Barr
(Doncaster Belles LFC)
Pauline Hamill
(FC Kilmarnock)
Alana Bruce
(Forfar Farmington LFC)
Donna James
(Ayr United LFC)
Stacey Cook
(Ayr United LFC)
Claire Johnstone
(FC Kilmarnock)
Gemma Fay
(Ayr United LFC)
Shelley Kerr
(Giulianos LFC)
Julie Fleeting
(Ayr United LFC)
Joanne Love
(FC Kilmarnock)
Lesley Fowler
(FC Kilmarnock)
Debbie McWhinnie
(Shettleston LFC)
Mhairi Gilmour
(Ayr United LFC)
Karen Penglase
(Ayr United LFC)
Nicky Grant
(Arsenal LFC)
Suzanne Robertson
(Hibernian LFC)
Suzanne Grant
(Inver Ross LFC)
Julie Smith
(FC Kilmarnock)