Hard Acts To Follow In Canada

Last updated : 29 June 2007 By Ed_ScottishFitba

One year older and more ambitious than ever
Saturday sees Scotland start their journey along the path to the Under 20s World Cup. Japan, Nigeria and Costa Rica stand in their way of progressing to the knock out stages of the tournament. Group F is a hard group to predict but with the top two from each group progressing, along with the best 4 third placed team, Scotland should stand a decent chance of making it through.

The tournament has been going since 1977 and allows fans to spot the stars of tomorrow's A squads. Out of the 15 times the trophy has been won, nine times it has headed to South America. Argentina triumphed five times with Brazil topping the tree four times. Can Scotland help redress the balance for Europe this time around? Only time and ScottishFitba.net will tell.

Previous winners
(host country in brackets)
2005 - Argentina (the Netherlands)
2003 - Brazil (United Arab Emirates)
2001 - Argentina (Argentina)
1999 - Spain (Nigeria)
1997 - Argentina (Malaysia)
1995 - Argentina (Qatar)
1993 - Brazil (Australia)
1991 - Portugal (Portugal)
1989 - Portugal (Saudi Arabia)
1987 - Yugoslavia (Chile)
1985 - Brazil (Soviet Union)
1983 - Brazil (Mexico)
1981 - West Germany (Australia)
1979 - Argentina (Japan)
1977 - Soviet Union (Tunisia)

Ger Harley (ger@scottishfitba.net)

Admin Team (admin@scottishfitba.net)

This is Scottish-Fitba.Net