New National Coach Required By SFA

Last updated : 27 August 2004 By Ed_ScottishFitba

Fancy your chances of leading Scotland’s women footballers to the next level? Now is your chance as the SFA are advertising for a new coach for the Scotland women's team, as the current coach, Vera Pauw, is leaving later this year. Pauw will be leaving at the end of Scotland's EURO2005 campaign after six successful years in which the national team has progressed to the highest level of European women's football. The new National Coach will have to be able to plan, lead and implement the SFA Women’s Performance Programme. The successful applicant must also be able to provide a leading and guiding role in supporting both elite athletes (the players) involved in the programme and to mentor the coaches delivering within the excellence programme.

The SFA advert reads: "
This dynamic individual must have experience in playing and coaching at the highest level in football, and must have experience in Sports Policy, and in particular Football Policy relating to Women’s Football both nationally and internationally. Preferably you will hold an 'A' Licence or equivalent, and have a degree in a related area. The successful candidate will be an excellent communicator, with the ability to work collaboratively with sports professionals and our Partners within the game. Your enthusiasm for Women’s football will shine through, as will your ability to motivate and enthuse others."

Applicants can email for an application pack, or telephone the SFA's Human Resources Department on 0141 616 6074. The closing date for applications is
10 September 2004.

Meanwhile, Pauw has announced her squad for
Scotland's final EURO2005 qualifier, to be played at home in Dingwall on Sunday, 5 September against the Czech Republic.

Scotland Women's Squad
Gemma Fay (Hibs)
Claire Johnstone (IBV, Iceland)
Holly Anderson (Fulham)
Michelle Barr (IBV, Iceland)
Ifeoma Dieke (Atlanta Beat)
Julie Ferguson (Hibs)
Shelley Grant (Glasgow City)
Rhonda Jones (Florida Atlantic Univ)
Michelle Kerr (Kilmarnock)
Suzanne Robertson (Hibs)
Nicky Grant (Kilmarnock)
Joanne Love (Kilmarnock)
Kirsty McBride (Hibs)
Julie Smith (Kilmarnock)
Megan Sneddon (Kilmarnock)
Julie Fleeting (Arsenal)
Suzanne Grant (Glasgow City)
Pauline Hamill (Hibs)
Suzanne Malone (Hibs)
Debbie McWhinnie (Hibs)

Editorial Team

Ger Harley (
Vanderhogg (